Picture of a tree

Burkina Faso

Back to the source with trees

Since 2009, the Fondation Yves Rocher has been planting trees in Brukina Faso to fend off drought.

PROJET EN COURS (2)

In the province of Sanguié in Burkina Faso, the land is increasingly arid. The landscape gradually turns into savannah, pushing the women on the tracks in search of the slightest tree. This is their only way to get free heating to cook their meals. In addition, the water level of the surface water tables has dropped causing the wells to dry up. It is daily extra work for women and children in search of water resources. These phenomena are increasingly pushing rural people to migrate to the city. The Baobab 29 project proposes to locally reverse this phenomenon through reforestation using agroforestry methods.

The project

In order to reduce the rural exodus from the province of Sanguié, and improve the living conditions of the inhabitants, it is essential to facilitate the work of farmers. To do this, we must plant trees that nourish the arid lands.  Anne-Elisabeth Réhault observe it before creating her association Baobab 29.

Since 2009, the Fondation Yves Rocher has been working in partnership with Baobab 29 to reclaim arable land in Sanguié. Since 2011, we have set ourselves the goal of planting 100,000 trees per year in 5 towns in the region thanks to the support of around 30 tree nurseries.

Each year, after having chosen their species, it is the farmers themselves who plant the trees recovered from the nurseries on their land. The big favorites are sea buckthorn, cassia or even red gum tree because they allow you to define the plots.

A few words about the NGO

Baobab 29, created on the initiative of Anne-Elisabeth Réhault, winner of Terre de Femmes in 2009, is an association specializing in agroforestry and the development of arid lands. It “vegetates” stone cordons using Vetiver adapted to the terrain because of its deep roots and its depolluting properties. Baobab 29’s actions are mainly concentrated in the province of Sanguié, which is particularly affected by this problem.

Zoom on artemisia

Plan d'Artémisia

In Burkina Faso, malaria kills 438,000 people each year, increasingly resistant to drugs.

In 2015, Madame Tu Youyou received the Nobel Prize in Medicine for having discovered the healing properties of annual mugwort (artemisia annua) against malaria.

To come to the aid of physician-researchers as well as victims of malaria, Baobab 29 has decided to act. Thus, the association has taken the noble initiative of planting Artemisia afra plans (a close cousin of Artemisia annua) in nurseries. It is about finding plants, training nurseries so that they prepare cuttings of artemisia. The latter will then sell their cuttings to the association so that it can replant them.

The Fondation Yves rocher is delighted to participate in the financing of this project.

If you want to find out more about our tree planting programme in France and around the world,

discover Plant for the Planet.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Picture of a tree

Burkina Faso

L’arbre est la source

Depuis 2009, la Fondation Yves Rocher plante des arbres au Brukina Faso pour repousser la sécheresse.

PROJET EN COURS (2)

Dans la province du Sanguié au Burkina Faso, les terres sont de plus en plus arides. Le paysage se transforme peu à peu en savane, poussant les femmes sur les pistes à la recherche du moindre arbre. C’est leur seul moyen d’obtenir du chauffage gratuit pour la cuisson de leurs repas. De plus, le niveau d’eau des nappes phréatiques superficielles a baissé entraînant l’assèchement des puits. C’est du travail supplémentaire quotidien pour les femmes et les enfants à la recherche de ressources d’eau. Ces phénomènes poussent de plus en plus les ruraux à migrer vers la ville. Le projet de Baobab 29 propose d’inverser localement ce phénomène par la reforestation en utilisant les méthodes de l’agroforesterie.

Le projet

Afin de diminuer l’exode rural de la province de Sanguié, et améliorer les conditions de vie des habitants, il est indispensable de faciliter le travail des agricultrices et agriculteurs. Pour ce faire, il faut planter des arbres qui nourrissent les terres arides. C’est le constat qu’a fait Anne-Elisabeth Réhault avant de créer son association Baobab 29.

Depuis 2009, la Fondation Yves Rocher travaille en partenariat avec Baobab 29 pour reconquérir les terres arables de Sanguié. Ainsi depuis 2011, nous nous sommes fixé l’objectif de planter 100 000 arbres par an dans 5 villes de la région grâce au soutien d’une trentaine de pépiniéristes.

Chaque année, après avoir choisi leurs essences, ce sont les agricultrices et agriculteurs eux-mêmes qui plantent sur leurs terrains les arbres récupérés en pépinières. Les grands favoris sont l’argousier, le cassia ou encore le gommier rouge car ils permettent de cerner les parcelles.

Quelques mots sur l'ONG

Baobab 29, créée à l’initiative d’Anne-Elisabeth Réhault, lauréate Terre de Femmes en 2009 est une association spécialisée en agroforesterie et en aménagement des terrains arides. Elle « végétalise » des cordons pierreux à l’aide de Vétiver adapté au terrain en raison de ses racines profondes et ses vertus dépolluantes. Les actions de Baobab 29 se concentrent principalement dans la province du Sanguié, particulièrement touchée par cette problématique.

Zoom sur l'artémisia

Plan d'Artémisia

Au Burkina Faso, le paludisme tue chaque année 438 000 personnes, résistant de plus en plus aux médicaments.

En 2015, Madame Tu Youyou a reçu le Prix Nobel de médecine pour avoir découvert les vertus guérisseuses de l’armoise annuelle (artemisia annua) contre le paludisme.

Pour venir en aide aux médecins-chercheurs mais aussi aux victimes du paludisme, Baobab 29 a décidé d’agir. Ainsi, l’association a pris la noble initiative de mettre en pépinière des plans d’artemisia afra (proche cousin de l’artémisia annua). Il s’agit de trouver des plants, former des pépiniéristes afin qu’ils préparent des boutures d’artémisia. Ces derniers vendront ensuite leurs boutures à l’association pour qu’elle les replante.

La Fondation Yves Rocher est ravie de participer au financement de ce projet.

Vous avez envie d’en savoir plus sur notre programme de plantation d’arbres en France et dans le monde ?

Découvrez PLANT FOR LIFE.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager