Picture of a tree

Madagascar

Growing in the shade

Family farming is a central part of this country’s culture. Lots of small-scale farmers are supported so that they can live off their crops and change the world at their own pace.

Reforest in Madagascar: Of trees and men

PROJET EN COURS (2)

Located in north-eastern Madagascar, Analanjirofo is a particularly humid tropical region and one of the richest in terms of biodiversity. There is significant environmental deterioration in the country, including this region where deforestation is a major issue. Developing planting activities is therefore needed here.

The project

Thanks to our partnership with the association Reboiser à Madagascar, we planted 1,200,000 trees between 2012 and 2014. We now aim to plant 500,000 more by the end of 2023.

Overall, with Reboiser à Madagascar we will be planting a total of 1,700,000 trees in order to restore Analanjirofo’s full potential.

The 73 species grown here are characteristic of the region, with most seeds sourced directly from farmers’ harvests. Fruit tree-planting is being planned for consumption, sale, and essential oil production, meaning that the fruit trees will therefore provide long-term food supply as well as additional revenue for the farmers involved.

Local communities are very active and involved in reforesting their land. Sowers and planters here work their own land, and require training in the best techniques. Thanks to these training sessions and planting workshops, social ties within villages will be strengthened. Every year, no fewer than 735 families (around 6,000 people) work with RAM in seamlessly rolling out the reforesting plans.

A few words about the NGO

Reboiser à Madagascar was set up in 2010 and aims to reforest the island, with the focus on the Alanajirofo region.

Chances for Nature: a youthful glimmer of hope for reforestation

PROJET EN COURS (2)

Madagascar is known for its exceptional fauna and flora. Yet its natural forests are among the most endangered habitats in the world. Traditional slash-and-burn farming, illegal felling and hunting of endangered and protected species threaten this unique biodiversity.

Kirindy Forest is the last remaining dry forest in the Menabe Reserve, and still the largest contiguous dry forest in Madagascar. It is home to a distinct ecosystem quite separate from the endemic biodiversity present here.

The problem is that the local community is not making biodiversity and its conservation a priority. With poverty a blight here, local residents are primarily concerned with their own survival. Young and old alike lack knowledge of sustainable alternatives. Although so crucial to the island, this topic isn’t covered in the school curriculum. For Chances for Nature (CFN), it is hugely important that the inhabitants of Menabe be steered towards sustainable development, and most importantly of all, that the depleted forests be restored.

The project

Trees play an important role in the daily lives of Menabe locals. Several tree species are used for construction or as a source of energy. But due to lack of knowledge, local communities are not yet fully aware of how important it is to protect them and use them in a sustainable manner. The biggest challenge here is therefore to raise awareness of the forest’s value among local populations. Ultimately, residents will be self-sufficient in restoring and tending to depleted forest areas.

CFN intends to plant a total of 47,000 trees over 40 hectares.

The campaign will include activities such as:

  • flagship nurseries to create visibility for visitors to the region
  • market and kitchen gardens in schools to teach children about gardening and ecology
  • using the existing nursery in Marofandilia
  • transplanting seedlings
  • upkeep of reforested areas
Spotlight on the Menabe region

The region is home to more than 200 species of trees and shrubs, at least 80 species of birds, over 50 species of reptiles, 15 species of amphibians, and 27 species of endemic mammals. The world’s smallest ever primate, Microcebus berthae, is only found in the Menabe Reserve forests. The area is also known for its famous Avenue of the Baobabs, which attracts flocks of tourists every year.

More information about Chances for Nature: https://chancesfornature.org/

National Museum of Natural History

PROJET EN COURS (2)

The Antrema Biocultural Site in north-western Madagascar is suffering from population growth and the consequences of climate change. Species and forest resources are finding it increasingly difficult to regenerate. Populations accustomed to collecting resources at the Antrema Biocultural Site are finding it harder and harder to obtain supplies. The National Museum of Natural History has set out to find alternative resources to fill this gap, in collaboration with local associations.

The project

The objectives of these plans to restore this 200-hectare forestland are manifold. Fast-growing species will make it possible to replenish the Antrema Biocultural Site with resources for local people. Lemurs will also be reunited with their natural habitat.

Between 2019 and 2022, we aim to plant 300,000 more trees together. But the first planting season encountered some difficulties due to two cyclones that ripped through the region, flooding nurseries and destroying crops in their wake.

However, local partners managed to find solutions to finish planting in time. The 10 nurseries initially planned were ultimately merged into five to make it easier for nursery workers to go about their tasks. Once seedlings are ready to be planted, local volunteers roll up their sleeves. All the volunteers were very proactive.

Thanks to the nurseries’ and volunteers’ hard work, the backlog was caught up. To date, planters have planted more than 257,000 trees!

If you want to find out more about our tree planting programme in France and around the world,

discover PLANT FOR LIFE

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Picture of a tree

Madagascar

Cultiver à l’ombre des arbres

L’agriculture familiale tient une place majeure dans ce pays. Et nombreux petits paysans sont soutenus pour pouvoir vivre de leur production et changer à leur échelle les choses.

Reboiser à Madagascar : Des arbres et des Hommes

PROJET EN COURS (2)

Située au Nord-Est de Madagascar, Analanjirofo est une région tropicale particulièrement humide et constituant l’une des plus riches en termes de biodiversité. Une dégradation environnementale importante s’observe au sein du pays, n’épargnant pas cette région inscrite dans une problématique de déforestation. Il est donc nécessaire d’y développer des activités de plantation.

Le projet

Grâce à notre partenariat avec l’association Reboiser à Madagascar, nous avons planté 1 200 000 arbres entre 2012 et 2014. Aujourd’hui, d’ici fin 2023, nous aspirons à planter 500 000 arbres supplémentaires.

En tout, avec Reboiser à Madagascar, nous aurons planté 1 700 000 arbres afin de redonner aux terres d’Analanjirofo tout leur potentiel.

Les 73 espèces cultivées sont caractéristiques de la région et la majorité des graines viennent directement des récoltes des paysans. La plantation d’arbres fruitiers est prévue dans une optique de consommation, de vente ou de production d’huiles essentielles. Les arbres fruitiers assureront donc sur le long terme des provisions alimentaires mais aussi un complément de revenu pour les agriculteurs impliqués.

Les populations locales se mobilisent très fortement pour le reboisement de leurs terres. En effet, les semeuses et semeurs, planteuses et planteurs agissent sur leurs propres terres et ont besoin d’être formé.e.s aux meilleures techniques. Grâce à ces ateliers de formation et de plantation, les liens sociaux au sein des villages pourront être renforcés. Ainsi chaque année, pas moins de 735 familles soit environ 6 000 personnes en tout sont impliquées avec RAM pour le bon déroulement du reboisement.

Quelques mots sur l'ONG

Reboiser à Madagascar a été créée en 2010 et a pour objectif de reboiser l’île en se concentrant sur la région d’Alanajirofo.

Chances for Nature : l'espoir des jeunes pour la reforestation

PROJET EN COURS (2)

Madagascar est connue pour sa faune et sa flore exceptionnelles. Cependant, ses forêts naturelles comptent parmi les habitats les plus menacés au monde. L’agriculture traditionnelle sur brûlis, la déforestation illégale et la chasse d’espèces menacées et protégées menacent cette biodiversité unique.

La forêt sèche restante de l’Aire Protégée de Menabe-Antimena, dans le centre de Menabe, reste la plus grande forêt sèche contigüe de Madagascar : la forêt de Kirindy. Elle représente un écosystème distinct par rapport à la biodiversité endémique qui y est présente.

Problème : la richesse et la sauvegarde de la biodiversité passe au second plan pour la population locale. Cette dernière s’occupant en priorité de sa propre survie, touchée par la pauvreté. Les jeunes et les mins jeunes manquent de connaissances sur les alternatives durables. En effet, ce sujet bien qu’incontournable sur l’île, n’est pas traité dans les programmes scolaires. Pour Chances for Nature (CFN), il est de grande importance d’amener les habitants de Menabe vers le développement durable, mais surtout de restaurer les forêts dégradées.

Le projet

Les arbres prennent une place importante dans le quotidien des habitants de Menabe. Plusieurs espèces d’arbres sont utilisées pour les constructions ou encore comme source d’énergie. Mais par manque de connaissance, les habitants n’ont pas encore conscience de l’importance de leur protection et utilisation de manière durable. L’enjeu principal est donc de sensibiliser les populations locales quant à la valeur de la forêt. Ainsi, les habitants seront autonomes dans la restauration et l’entretien des zones forestières dégradées.

CFN aspire à planter un total de 47 000 arbres sur 40 ha.

Parmi les activités mises en place par ce programme, on retrouve :

  • des pépinières vitrines pour assurer une visibilité pour les visiteurs de la région ;
  • des jardins potagers dans les écoles pour sensibiliser les enfants au jardinage et à l’écologie ;
  • l’utilisation de la pépinière existante à Marofandilia ;
  • la transplantation des jeunes plans ;
  • l’entretien des zones reboisées.
Zoom sur la région de Menabe

La région abrite plus de 200 espèces d’arbres et d’arbustes, au moins 80 espèces d’oiseaux, plus de 50 espèces de reptiles, 15 amphibiens et 27 mammifères endémiques. Le plus petit primate du monde décrit par la science, Microcebus berthae ne vit que dans les forêts de l’Aire Protégée de Menabe-Antimena. La région est aussi connue pour sa fameuse allée des baobabs qui attire chaque année de nombreux touristes.

Plus d’informations sur Chances for Nature : https://chancesfornature.org/

Museum national d'Histoire naturelle

PROJET EN COURS (2)

Le site bioculturel d’Antrema au nord-ouest de Madagascar est victime de la croissance démographique et des conséquences du changement climatique. Les espèces et les ressources forestières ont de plus en plus de mal à se régénérer. Les populations habituées à se rendre sur le site bioculturel d’Antrema pour prélever des ressources ont de plus en plus de difficultés à s’approvisionner. Le Museum national d’Histoire naturelle s’est donné pour mission de trouver des ressources alternatives pour pallier ce manque, en collaboration avec des associations locales.

Le projet

Les objectifs du projet de restauration de ce massif forestier de 200 ha sont multiples. En effet, les essences à croissance rapide permettront de réapprovisionner le site bioculturel d’Antrema en ressources accessibles aux populations. De plus les lémuriens pourront retrouver leur habitat naturel.

Entre 2019 et 2022, il est prévu de planter 300 000 arbres. Mais la première saison de plantation a rencontré quelques difficultés du fait du passage de deux cyclones dans la région. Ces derniers ont inondé des pépinières et détruit des productions.

Les partenaires locaux ont cependant réussi à trouver des solutions pour pouvoir finir les plantations à temps. Les 10 pépinières initialement prévues ont finalement été regroupées en 5 pour faciliter le travail des pépiniéristes. Une fois les plants prêts à être mis en terre, ce sont les populations locales qui interviennent bénévolement pour la plantation. Tous les volontaires se sont montrés très proactifs.

Grâce à tous les efforts fournis par les pépiniéristes et les bénévoles, le retard a pu être rattrapé. A jour, planteuses et planteurs ont mis en terre plus de 257 000 arbres !

Vous avez envie d’en savoir plus sur notre programme de plantation d’arbres en France et dans le monde ?

Découvrez PANT FOR LIFE.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager